Class 1, Division 2: Certified for Hazardous Locations

Class 1, Division 2: Certified for Hazardous Locations

| 12/3/2015 5:41:00 PM

If data connectivity equipment is to be used in certain industries, like Oil and Gas, it will typically need to have Class 1, Div 2 certification.  There is no single global standard, so a device may require multiple approvals.  In the USA, for example, a device would have to meet National Electrical Code (NEC) standards.  In Europe, the device would have to meet International Electrotechnical Committee (IEC) standards.

A Class 1, Div 2 hazardous location is an area in which flammable gases, vapors or liquids may potentially be present. If poorly designed electrical devices, wiring or circuits are deployed in a Class 1, Div 2 environment they can introduce electrical discharges that will serve as the ignition points for fires and explosions.  A Class 1, Div 2 certified device is designed and manufactured to minimize these risks by addressing factors like spacing, fuses, relays, connectors, and surface temperatures. It will also be tested for both normal operation mode and various failure modes.

Industries that typically require Class 1, Div 2 approval include:

  • Process Industry
  • Oil and Gas Industry
  • Gas Pumps, Gas Stations
  • Food and Beverage
  • Mining Industry
  • Water/Wastewater Treatment Plant

Class I, Division 2 Products from B+B SmartWorx

B+B SmartWorx designs and manufactures a wide array of Class 1, Division 2 certified products, and we’ve created a brochure to make product selection easy. You can download it here.

As always, you are also welcome to call and talk to one of our sales or technical support folks any time you have questions about Class 1, Div 2 or any other aspect of industrial data networking.

662 Comments Click here to read/write comments
Subscribe to Susan's Tech Tips